Search   
 / Login     
The Wings Over Wetlands - African-Eurasian Flyways Project
  

WOW Team Meeting (28 Jan - 1 Feb 2008)The WOW Project Team consisted of a wide partnership of individuals and organisations committed to improving the conservation of migratory waterbirds and the wetlands they depend on across the Africa and Eurasia. Below is a short introduction to some of the core team members that have been involved in the day-to-day management of the project.

Please note that the full project team extended across Africa and Eurasia and included many more individuals and organisations that can not all be listed on this page. Please also see each demonstration project page for more information on the many organisations working for WOW on the ground, in over 12 different countries across the African-Eurasian region.

The Project Coordination Unit (PCU)

The WOW Project Coordination Unit (PCU) was located within the office of Wetlands International in Wageningen, The Netherlands from 2006 until July 2009 and since then it was hosted by the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat in Bonn, Germany. It was staffed by an Operations Manager, employed by UNOPS. The PCU worked closely with all project partners to coordinate and facilitate all project activities. The staff member was the primary vehicle for project coordination and was the central hub for day to day operations and communication with the broad range of partners in Africa, Europe and Asia.

 

Project Coordination Unit based at the UN Premises in Bonn, Germany:

Camillo Ponziani

Camillo Ponziani (Canada)
Operations Manager
camillop@unops.org
Tel: +49 228 8152471 

 
WETLANDS INTERNATIONAL
Supervisor for WOW     WOW Project Coordinator
Ward Hagemeijer

Ward Hagemeijer (The Netherlands)
Head Biodiversity and Ecological Network
Wetlands International
ward.hagemeijer@wetlands.org
Tel: +31 (0) 318 660938

Dr. Umberto Callo-Orsi

Dr. Umberto Gallo-Orsi (Italy)
WOW Project Coordinator
Wetlands International
umberto.gallo-orsi@wetlands.org
Tel: +31 (0) 318 660942

 CSN development
Szabolcs Nagy

 

Szabolcs Nagy (Hungary)
Senior Biodiversity Officer 
Wetlands International
szabolcs.nagy@wetlands.org
Tel: +31 (0) 318 660935

 

 Capacity development

Tunde Ojei

 Tunde Ojei (Canada)
Capacity Development Officer
Wetlands International
tunde.ojei@wetlands.org

 

 

BIRDLIFE INTERNATIONAL

Supervisor for WOW  Supporting demonstration projects

Leon Bennun

 

Leon Bennun (Kenya) 
Director of Sience Policy and Information 
BirdLife International
leon.bennun@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 277318

Jonathan Barnard

Jonathan Barnard (United Kingdom)
Senior Programme Manager
BirdLife International
jonathan.barnard@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 277318

  CSN development team    

Alli Strattersfield

Ali Stattersfield (United Kingdom)
Head of Science
BirdLife International
Ali.stattersfield@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 277318

Vicky Jones

Vicky Jones (United Kingdom)
Global Flyways Officer
BirdLife International
vicky.jones@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 279862

Lincoln Fishpool

Lincoln Fishpool (United Kingdom) Global IBA Coordinator
BirdLife International
lincoln.fishpool@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 277318

Ian May

Ian May (United Kingdom)
Acting Head of Information Management
BirdLife International
ian.may@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 277318

 

 UNEP WORLD CONSERVATION AND MONITORING CENTRE (UNEP-WCMC)

 Coordinator for WOW at UNEP-WCMC    
Gerardo Fragoso

Gerardo Fragoso (UK) 
Head of MEA Support Programme / UNEP World Conservation and Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC)
Gerardo.Fragoso@unep-wcmc.org Tel: + 44 (0) 1223 814627

Andrew Cottam

Andrew Cottam (UK)  
Senior Informatics Officer /  UNEP World Conservation and Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC)
Andrew.Cottam@unep-wcmc.org
Tel: + 44 (0) 1223 814627

    

WOW COMMUNICATIONS TEAM

Florian Keil

Florian Keil (Germany)
Communications Officer
UNEP/AEWA Secretariat
fkeil@unep.de
Tel: +49 (0)228 8152451

Alex Kaat

Alex Kaat (The Netherlands)
Communications Officer
Wetlands International
alex.kaat@wetlands.org
Tel: +31 (0)317 486776

Adrian Long

Adrian Long (United Kingdom)
Communications Officer
BirdLife International
adrian.long@birdlife.org
Tel: +44 1223 279812

Dwight Peck

Dwight Peck (U.S.A)
Communications Officer
Ramsar Convention
peck@ramsar.org
Tel:+41 2 299 901 70

Susanna Tol

Susanna Tol (The Netherlands)
Communications Officer
Wetlands International
susanna.tol@wetlands.org
Tel: +31 (0)317 483808

       
       
       
WoW team Wetlands International

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   WoW Project Tea, at BLI

Wings over Wetlands (WOW)   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement